Skip to content

One Small Change: Make Yogurt!

October 3, 2010

I’m so excited to be joining One Small Change.  The idea is simple.  We can all make one small change at a time to lessen our impact on the earth.  Thanks to Suzy at Hip Mountain Mama for putting together this project!

I’m amazed…no, flummoxed, by the amount of packaging that moves through our household.  We don’t buy a lot of new items, but we sure do buy food!  And although we buy mostly organic food, most of it still comes wrapped up in packaging.  I’m grateful that our city has a comprehensive recycling program, and our yogurt containers are all recycleable (not so, in the town we just moved from).  But all plastics, whether they will be recycled into something new or not, have a negative impact on the planet.  They are derived from a non-renewable resource and they take energy and water to produce and recycle.

All processed foods, yogurt included, have another negative impact in addition to their packaging.  They are produced in factories far from where I live and must be shipped to my local grocery store.  The transportation of my food from here and there and everywhere makes up a huge portion of my carbon footprint.  And this is true even when I buy my favorite glass-bottled grass-fed yogurt from Whole Foods.

There are many ways to cut back on processed food and to start cooking from scratch in our own kitchens.  I so admire the many families who grow and preserve and bake their own and inspire the rest of us to try the same.  But I know for me it will have to happen in baby steps….so this month we are going to try making our own yogurt.  I can’t wait to start tonight!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 11:43 am

    I am so excited about this! Making yogurt is one of those things I have been dragging my heels on. I will get to it one of these days, but I am still intimidated! Looking forward to hearing how it goes!
    Suzy

  2. October 5, 2010 11:44 am

    I’ll be watching to see if you have any tips and tricks. making my own yogart is something I’ve wanted to do for a while.

Leave a Reply

