Skip to content

Mushy Gushy

September 28, 2010

{I’m taking a break from my Week of Crafting to write a 30-minute blog post inspired by Steady Mom.}

One of my favorite toddler and preschooler activities of all time is what I call “mushy gushy.”  It is super simple and always fun (for grownups too) !

All you need is cornstarch and water.  When you mix these together something magical happens.  It’s a unique sensory experience of digging your fingers into cement only to have it drip and ooze from your hand as a liquid.  It is endlessly entertaining.

I like to set out a container of cornstarch with a scoop and a measuring cup full of water and let Boo do the mixing.  I’ll squirt in liquid watercolor on request.  It’s fun to see how the color blends in and then separates into its primary components (In these photos I only added purple paint but it separated into pink and bright blue).

Mushy gushy is delightfully messy, mesmerizing, and mysterious.

Enjoy, and let me know how it goes!  :)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 10:57 pm

    One of my favorite activities when I was a kid and I have yet to do it with my kids. Thanks for the reminder! Kudos to letting it all happen on the table, too.

    • September 30, 2010 12:09 pm

      Thanks! I actually find it pretty easy to clean up with wet rags. Sometimes we go outside for this one and just hose off. I recently tried it with my 12-month-old outdoors and she loved it but it was a MESS! She kept crawling right through it….but it rinsed out of her clothes easily. Have fun! :) –Kelly

Trackbacks

  1. Potions | Boo and Bubbles

Leave a Reply

