Skip to content

Not a craft blog?

September 24, 2010

This isn’t a craft blog.  Or at least that wasn’t my intention.  I learned to knit a few years ago and took up sewing last summer when we needed curtains and I wasn’t willing to return to the big box store to buy something that wasn’t the right thing again.  Mastering these skills has been slow, it’s been exhilarating, it’s been painful, and it’s been empowering.

As I started making things for our home and our girls, something magical started happening.  When a need arose, I started thinking, “I wonder if we could make that.”  I started paying more attention to how the objects in our lives are constructed, what stitches were used in my sweaters, where they came from, and imagining who made them.  These objects, these many many objects of our daily lives, all came from somewhere, they all used resources in their production, there were people involved in their creation and those people have stories, and the objects themselves will have a useful life (I hope) and then perhaps a slow decay.  I like being a part of the story of the objects in my home, not just the story of their consumption but also of their production.

The more I make things (which isn’t as often as I would like, sleep being necessary and all) the more I realize how important it is to me to do so and the more reasons occur to me to keep doing it.  So I’m going to write a series of posts next week on why crafting is important to me.  Feel free to join in by leaving a link to your post(s) in the comments!

Leave a Reply

