Skip to content

Sewing together!

November 26, 2010

Boo has been asking and asking to learn how to sew.  She got her hands on a bag of fabric scraps the other day and was determined to “make a bag with mama.”  I was amazed how she stuck with this project, sometimes rolling on the floor, sometimes helping to put pins back in the cushion, and mostly just directing.  She wanted to be involved and feel that she was really sewing, so as I put in a pin she would say, “Now put the pin there.”  When the bag was done she was so proud of the work we had done together!

I realized that my almost-four-year-old is ready to learn some real skills.  I love her self-assurance that she can make anything, and the way she will take felt and scotch tape and say she’s making a shirt or mix together flour and purple paint and tell me she’s making yarn.  Imagination and confidence make lovely partners.

But hands-on skills are important too, and this girl is ready.  We’re starting with some simple embroidery (I’ll share about that soon) and she may want to help papa with some upcoming woodworking projects.  Any other ideas?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 10:23 am

    It is so wonderful to be teaching handwork skills at a young age. It just opens up endless possibilities.

    • November 27, 2010 10:30 am

      Thanks Tonya…yes, I’m hoping to raise resourceful people who don’t need to depend on stores for what they need! And I think teaching handwork builds confidence too. :)

  2. November 29, 2010 2:28 am

    Good question. I’ve never really thought about this consciously, but now that I’ve put some thought into it, I realise that we do it just by including them in everything we do. When we’re sawing wood, we give them a cardboard box or styrofoam to saw. Or we give them nails and a hammer with a cardboard box. And, of course gardening and cooking… they just INSIST on learning these things. Sewing and kitting – they’re interested, but they do other kinds of play with it – although my nearly- five year old really wants to learn more – I have to admit I haven’t really put the energy into figuring out how she can learn these things – yet! (I’m sure she won’t let me forget to do it)

  3. November 29, 2010 12:07 pm

    I love that bag! You can’t have too much purple…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.